API Logo blue and red

Alliance Publications

The Sly Students – Furfangos Diákok – Bd Sc – Band



THE SLY STUDENTS is composed with six movements by for wind orchestra by Hungarian composer, Ferenc Farkas (1905-2000), originates from a Suite from the ballet of the same title—“The sly students for orchestra” composed in 1949. In 2014, Swiss Band director, Tony Kurmann arranged it for wind orchestra. Concert Band. Score. Grade: 5 Duration: 20:00

1. “Fair in Debrecen” / “Vásár Debrecenben” – 4’28’’ -– Molto allegro

2. “Air de danse” – 2’26’’ – Tempo di minuetto

3. “Students’dance” / “Diákok tánca” – 4’51’’– Allegro moderato

4. “Gipsy-music” / “Cigányzene” – 1’31’’ – Tempo di Csárdás

5. “Pas de deux” – 2’20’’ – Adagio

6. “Finale:”

– a. “Drunken-dance” / “Részeg tánc” – Allegro

– b. “Humorous funeral march” / “Tréfás gyászinduló” – Molto meno mosso

– c. Horseherds-dance / Csikósok tánca)  – 4’31’’


Background Notes are in the Resources tab.

Additional information

Catalog #

AP-06098 Sc






Release Date





Submit a Comment

Alliance Publications

Alliance Publications, Inc. specializes in enriching musical experiences through a diverse catalog of instrumental and choral compositions, fostering artistic innovation and education, with a focus on Czech and Slovak classic and folk music.

Fred Bock Publishing Group

Alliance Publications, Inc. is an imprint of the Fred Bock Publishing Group and its' family of choral music publishing companies.

Contact Us

PO Box 10069
Glendale, CA. 91209

(818) 551-0800